Spirit of Hope Celebration Raises $56,982 for Northeast Regional Cancer Institute

Front row, seated from left to right: Marta Gomes, Traci Fosnot, Leo Vergnetti, Board of Ambassadors Chairman, Karen M. Saunders, President, Northeast Regional Cancer Institute, Robin Long and Jo Ann Romano Hallesky. 
Second row, standing from left to right: Vanessa Vergnetti-Thomas, Joe Van Wie, Nevin Gerber, Dino Campitelli, Richard P. Conaboy Jr. (2021 Tribute to Courage Honoree), William Davis, Kristie Hynoski, Clarence Baltrusaitis, Meghan Gagorik, and Amanda E. Marchegiani, Community Relations Coordinator, Northeast Regional Cancer Institute.

The Spirit of Hope Celebration Board of Ambassadors and Associate Board of Ambassadors presented the Cancer Institute with a $56,982 check from their 2021 Spirit of Hope event.

“On behalf of the Ambassadors who truly exhibit the ‘Spirit of Hope’ we are thrilled to present you with these funds to help individuals receive early detection and free screenings,” said Leo Vergnetti, Chairman of the Board of Ambassadors.

The Board of Ambassadors, a group of community volunteers, hosted the ninth annual Spirit of Hope Celebration in November 2021 at Mohegan Sun Pocono. More than 300 people were in attendance. The event featured cocktails, hors d’oeuvres, music, and a live and silent auction. Richard P. Conaboy Jr. was the Tribute to Courage Honoree.

Proceeds from the event benefited the Cancer Institute’s Community-Based Cancer Screening Navigation Program. This program helps low income and un/underinsured individuals in northeast Pennsylvania get their recommended colorectal, breast, cervical, and lung cancer screenings.

Board of Ambassadors and Associate Board Members: Absent from photo:  Tom Blaskewicz, Matt Beynon, Susan & Jim Brady ,Trish & Nicholas Colangelo, Ph.D., Thomas P. Cummings, Jr., Esq., Thomas P. Cummings III, Esq.;, Tom DePietro, Mary Erwine, Joe G. Ferguson, Esq., Greg Gagorik, James T. Gorman, John & Jennifer Heil, Charles C. Jefferson, Joe Mattioli, Paul McGloin,  Chuck Morgan, Brian McQuestion, Evie Rafalko McNulty , Vito Pizzo, William Rinaldi, Philip Medico, David J. Nape, Eugene D. Sperazza, Esq., John P. Rodgers, Esq., P. Richard Scheller, Vince Scarpetta, Patrick Sicilio , U.S. Representative Dan Meuser, Melissa Stites, ,  Christopher A. Peters, M.D, , Joseph Tomko, Patty Vergnetti, Tony Vergnetti, , and  Steven J. Szydlowski, Ph.D., Jessica Ruddy, Linda Marino-Brooks, and Dana Morris.