Spirit of Hope Celebration Raises $54,789  for Northeast Regional Cancer Institute

Karen M. Saunders, President of Northeast Regional Cancer Institute, Leo Vergnetti, Chairman of the Spirit of Hope Board of Ambassadors and Laura Toole, Executive Vice President of Northeast Regional Cancer Institute.

The Spirit of Hope Celebration Board of Ambassadors presented the Cancer Institute with a $54,789 check from their 2022 Spirit of Hope event.

“On behalf of the Ambassadors who truly exhibit the ‘Spirit of Hope’ we are thrilled to present you with these funds to help individuals receive early detection and free screenings,” said Leo Vergnetti, Chairman of the Board of Ambassadors.

The Board of Ambassadors, a group of community volunteers, hosted the tenth annual Spirit of Hope Celebration in November 2022 at Mohegan Pennsylvania. More than 300 people were in attendance. The event featured cocktails, hors d’oeuvres, music and a silent auction. Bob Durkin was the Tribute to Courage Honoree.

Proceeds from the event benefited the Cancer Institute’s Community-Based Cancer Screening Navigation Program. This program helps individuals in northeast Pennsylvania get their recommended colorectal, breast, cervical, and lung cancer screenings.

Front row, seated from left to right:  

Atty. Chuck Volpe, Edward Cosgrove, Joe G. Ferguson, Esq., Pat Sicilio, Nicholas Colangelo, Ph.D., Leo Vergnetti, Board of Ambassadors Chairman, Tom DePietro, Greg Gagorik, Philip Medico, and Vince Scarpetta.

Second row, standing from left to right: Christopher A. Peters, M.D., Matt Beynon, Patty Vergnetti, Julie Eisenman, Marta Gomes, Robin Long, Amanda E. Marchegiani, Community Relations Coordinator, Northeast Regional Cancer Institute, Vanessa Vergnetti-Thomas, Meghan Gagorik, Vito Pizzo, and Joe Mattioli.  

Third row, standing from left to right: Richard P. Conaboy Jr., Nevin Gerber, Kristie Hynoski, and Traci Fosnot.  

Board of Ambassadors and Associate Board Members: Absent from photo:  Tom Blaskewicz, Susan & Jim Brady ,Trish Colangelo, Thomas P. Cummings, Jr., Esq., Thomas P. Cummings III, Esq., Mary Erwine, James T. Gorman, John & Jennifer Heil, Charles C. Jefferson, Paul McGloin,  Chuck Morgan, Brian McQuestion, Evie Rafalko McNulty, William Rinaldi, David J. Nape, Eugene D. Sperazza, Esq., John P. Rodgers, Esq., P. Richard Scheller, U.S. Representative Dan Meuser, Melissa Stites, Joseph Tomko, Tony Vergnetti,  Steven J. Szydlowski, Ph.D., Linda Marino-Brooks, Dana Morris, Karen M. Saunders, President, Northeast Regional Cancer Institute, Jo Ann Romano Hallesky, Joe Van Wie, Dino Campitelli, William Davis,  and Clarence Baltrusaitis.