Spirit of Hope Celebration Board of Ambassadors Meet to Finalize Event Details

Seated from left to right: Vanessa Vergnetti, Meghan Gagorik, Leo Vergnetti, Chairman of the Board, Robin Long, Amanda Marchegiani, Community Relations Coordinator at Northeast Regional Cancer Institute, and Ed Cosgrove. 
Standing from left to right: Steven J. Szydlowski, Ph.D., Vito Pizzo, Brian McQuestion, Patrick Sicilio, Nevin Gerber, Matt Beynon, and Vince Scarpetta.

SCRANTON, PA – The Board of Ambassadors met last week at Montage Mountain to finalize plans for the upcoming Spirit of Hope Celebration set for Friday, November 11, 2022, at Mohegan Sun Pocono. The 2022 Spirit of Hope Tribute to Courage Honoree is Bob Durkin, President of the Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce.

The Board of Ambassadors is a group of individuals and business leaders in northeast Pennsylvania whose purpose is to raise funds and promote a gala event in support of cancer screening awareness throughout the region.

The Spirit of Hope Celebration benefits the Northeast Regional Cancer Institute’s Community-Based Cancer Screening Navigation Program. This program helps individuals in northeast Pennsylvania get their recommended colorectal, breast, cervical, and lung cancer screenings.

For more information about the Spirit of Hope Celebration including tickets, please call the Cancer Institute at (570) 904-8808 or visit www.cancernepa.org or www.spiritofhopecelebration.org.

About the Board of Ambassadors  

The Board of Ambassadors consists of individuals and business leaders in northeast Pennsylvania who come together to raise funds & awareness to fight cancer in the local community through their support and promotion of a gala event.

About The Northeast Regional Cancer Institute

Originated in 1991, the Northeast Regional Cancer Institute is a nonprofit community-based agency serving seven counties in northeast Pennsylvania with offices located in Scranton and Wilkes-Barre.  Focusing on surveillance, community and patient services, and hospital and practice support services, the Cancer Institute invests 100% of its resources locally.

Absent from photo: Clarence Baltrusaitis, Thomas Blaskiewicz, Jim and Susan Brady, Dino Campitelli, Trish and Nicholas Colangelo, Ph.D., Richard P. Conaboy, Jr., Thomas P. Cummings Jr., Esq., Thomas P. Cummings III, Esq., William Davis, Tom DePietro, Julie Eisenman, Mary Erwine, Joseph G. Ferguson, Esq., Traci Fosnot, Greg Gagorik, Marta Gomes, James T. Gorman, Jo Ann Romano Hallesky, John and Jennifer Heil, Kristie Hynoski, Charles C. Jefferson, Linda Marino-Brooks, Joe Mattioli, Paul McGloin, Evie Rafalko McNulty, Philip Medico, Dan Meuser, Chuck Morgan, Dana Morris, David J. Nape, Christopher A. Peters, M.D., Billy Rinaldi, John P. Rodgers, Esq., P. Richard Scheller, Eugene D. Sperazza, Esq., Melissa Stites, Joseph S. Tomko, Joe Van Wie, and Chuck Volpe.