Cancer Institute Volunteer to be Honored for Fundraising Project

AFPBreakfastLeo Vergnetti of Scranton has been nominated and selected for the “Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser Award” at this year’s Philanthropy Day Awards, hosted by the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) Northeastern Pennsylvania Chapter. Mr. Vergnetti, along with several other award recipients in various categories, will be honored at a luncheon on November 21st, 2014 at the Woodlands Inn, Wilkes-Barre.

Mr. Vergnetti serves as chairperson for the Board of Ambassadors, a group of individuals and business leaders who come together to raise funds and awareness to fight cancer in the local community through their support and promotion of a gala event. The event, called the Spirit of Hope Celebration, takes place in November each year.  Money raised benefits the Northeast Regional Cancer Institute’s Patient Navigation program.  This initiative helps low-income individuals in northeast Pennsylvania access direct health-care related services.

Mr. Vergnetti recently attended a breakfast held by the Philanthropy Day Committee at The Colonnade in Scranton.  The breakfast provided an opportunity for the honorees to prepare for the November luncheon.

This year marks the second year in a row that the Northeast Regional Cancer Institute has been nominated and selected as the recipient for AFP’s “Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser Award.” This award honors an individual or family that demonstrates outstanding skills in coordinating and motivating groups of volunteers for fundraising projects for the benefit of charitable institutions.

The Northeast Regional Cancer Institute is a nonprofit organization working to ease the burden of cancer in northeast Pennsylvania. Focusing on surveillance, community and patient services, and hospital and practice support services, the Cancer Institute invests 100% of its resources locally.

Pictured Above (From Left to Right): Karen M. Saunders, President, Northeast Regional Cancer Institute and Leo P. Vergnetti, Board of Ambassadors, Chairperson