Cancer Institute Announces New Officers and Members to the Board of Directors

Christopher A. Peters, M.D., Chair of the Board of Directors of the Northeast Regional Cancer Institute recently announced the appointment of Michele Churney, MSN, RN, and Edward Chabalowski to the Board of Directors.

Michele Churney MSN, RN

Michele Churney MSN, RN, is the Manager of Outpatient Services at Wayne Memorial Healthcare System. She is responsible for the operations and clinical oversight of outpatient emergency, oncology, wound care, hyperbaric, orthopedic and obstetric services. Recently, Michele accepted the Stroke Coordinator role and led Wayne Memorial to a successful Primary Stroke Center Accreditation. She is active in community education programs on cardiac, stroke, wellness and drug prevention and serves as a member of the Wayne County Drug Prevention Taskforce. In addition; to her extensive clinical experience and academic background, Michele has a BSN and MSN with a secondary study in management and leadership. She served as a member of the Misericordia University Department of Nursing advisory board and clinical nursing instructor for Marywood and Penn State University.

Edward Chabalowski

Edward Chabalowski is the Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Geisinger Community Medical Center. He is responsible for coordinating the financial aspects of organizational strategies, performance improvement, and leadership. Prior to Geisinger, he was the Chief Financial Officer and Director of Finance for Temple University Hospital. Edward holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in business administration/accounting from Rutgers University and is a member of the Healthcare Financial Management Association, the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the New Jersey Institute of Certified Public Accountants.


In addition to the new members, Christopher A. Peters, M.D., appointed the following new officers, Susan Shoemaker, Vice-Chair, Barbara Bossi, Secretary, and Suzanne M. Fletcher, Treasurer.

Christopher A. Peters, M.D. Board Chair

Susan Shoemaker,  Vice-Chair


Barbara Bossi, Secretary

Suzanne M. Fletcher, Treasurer